Search HPC Site

Latest Install

STAR 2.5 RNA-seq Aligner is now available in the DEAC cluster! Read more about it here:

STAR 2.5

HPC Staff

The WFU DEAC Cluster is centrally supported and maintained by two full time system administrators. Professional development for our staff is ongoing through annual training allocations from the Information Systems department.


Adam Carlson:

Mr. Carlson joined Wake Forest University in April 2014, and is a Senior Unix System Administrator on the HPC team. His primary duties include configuration automation, hardware administration and deployment, service migration, scripting development, and user training. He has led multiple cluster transformation efforts including: tengig node integration, scheduler migration from Torque to SLURM, research storage migration, and retirement of our legacy IBM infrastructure.

Mr. Carlson obtained his Bachelor’s Degree in Computer Engineering from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte in May 2006, with a minor in Mathematics.  After graduating, he spent ~8 years working for an agency within the Department of Defence where he served as a Storage Administrator, IT Technical Chair, and Linux Team Lead. He has also obtained certifications from Red Hat, Cisco and Puppet Labs.

Cody Stevens:

Cody began working with the High Performance Computing team in June 2014 as an intern researching the implemention of the SLURM job scheduler. Since then he has worked in Information Systems as a UNIX Systems Administrator supporting the Reynolda campus’ enterprise systems.

Cody obtained his Masters Degree in Computer Science at Wake Forest University with a focus in High Performance and GPU Computing while working with Dr. Sam Cho. His thesis GPU-Optimized Graph Theory Analysis of Allosteric Protein Signaling Networks explores the performance of graph algorithms in GPU optimized environment and applies those algorithms to perturbation results in molecular dynamic simulations.

Former HPC Staff

The WFU DEAC Cluster has been fortunate to have the support of many great administrators during it’s existence. We’d like to thank them for their past work, and recognize their time served below.

Damian Valles, PhD : 2014 – 2017
Wenxiao Huang, PhD : 2017 Summer Intern
Riana Freeman : 2016 Summer Intern
Timothy Miller, PhD : 2002 – 2015
Cody Stevens : 2015 Summer Intern
David Chin, PhD : 2008 – 2013